Sundays

It is amazing that the moment you open your laptop and sit with a nice white blank page in front of you all the words and thoughts disappear. Maybe one should walk around with a miniature tape recorder and actually record all the thoughts that go through one’s head. I am sitting on the couch with my laptop on my lap and nothing comes to mind. The sounds of Sunday are floating in from outside. The lawnmowers are hard at work cutting lawns, the sounds of the birds are filtering through the noise that they make. My dogs are lazing around the house, one on the floor all sprawled out on the cool tiles while the smaller doxie is here next to me on the couch cushions. He is in the perfect spot…. In the crosswinds of the breeze. The butt end is facing the open window and he is sprawled on the cushions in such a way that he can still see out of the window. Ah the life of a house dog.

 

20151228_101900

Sundays, lazy, chilled, relaxed Sundays. The day of rest for most of the population. One’s body just seems to have that internal clock that says “Chill time”. The day to regroup and get ready for the week that lays ahead. My memories of Sundays are Mom’s Sunday roasts….. ah how I miss those. The scent of the chicken roasting in the oven, the sounds of pots and pans being moved around. The sitting down all together around the grand dining room table that is groaning under the dishes filled with vegetables and roast potatoes and that gravy….. oh how I have tried to make it just like her but there are just some things that only Mom could make. Then the puddings afterwards and the sounds of empty dishes being taken into the kitchen to be washed.  Sundays were the true family time days.

 

Now my kids are all over the country and how I miss having my Sundays with them. The catch up of all the news from them, the sound of their laughter and their banter. My heart aches for days gone by but as my late Mother always said: “Your daughter is your daughter all your life, Your son is you son till he takes a wife.” I have 3 sons….. enough said. One day I will have them all around me gain for a Christmas or for a Sunday complete with the grandchildren. Someday, one day!

 

But till then I will sit and listen to the sounds of Sunday, the peace and tranquillity that it provides. The time for one’s thoughts to spill over into memories gone by and of memories still to come.

Author: grannyonthemovesite

I am a nutty lady of the 50 something group, 3 sons and at the moment 1 grand baby, 2 dogs and 1 black cat. I intend to make the most of my soon to be golden years but till then I want to do all that I can do before my bones become brittle and my body and mind turn to mush due to age. Now is the time of my life and I intend to make the most of it.

Leave a Reply

